On BRAIDED — a Lesbian Rapunzel

Crumbs, the first novella in Sappho’s Fables: Lesbian Fairy Tales series, the series I am co-authoring with my lovely wife (<3), has been out a week now, and people are receiving it wonderfully and excitedly~ ❤ It debuted at number six on the Amazon Lesbian bestsellers list, and that’s totally and completely because of your support. ❤ Thank you so much for being so awesome, and for supporting Sappho’s Fables! ❤

The next release from the first volume will be my re-envisioning of the “Rapunzel” fairy tale: Braided.

Crumbs was the flagship of Sappho’s Fables for a reason–it is the most unlike all of our other retellings. It’s dystopian, post-apocalyptic, contains a could-totally-happen version of zombies. Most of our other retellings are not dystopian, are in fantastical worlds that contain more magic than machine, which is a concept you’d almost expect from a fairy tale retelling. But we wanted to be able to give the lesbian and totally-awesome-and-open-minded communities not just an original version of a fairy tale from a lesbian perspective–we wanted it to be completely original in all other ways. “Rapunzel” is a very usual, everyone-knows-it story, and there are thousands and thousands of retellings of “Rapunzel.” I very much wanted to breathe life in a story you think you know, keep the bones that you love and make it completely unexpected and unfamiliar–no small task when dealing with a childhood legend!

Braided will be released either a week from today, or a little after that (I promise I’ll update with a set date when we’re finished polishing it up~ <3), and I’m so excited to share my retelling of a fairy tale that’s very near and dear to my heart, with a few twists I’d like to hope you don’t see coming. ❤

Thank you, again, from the bottom of my heart for supporting Sappho’s Fables–there’s no point to doing what we’re doing unless these lesbian fairy tales reach people who will enjoy them–and they’re doing just that. ❤ Your support means the world!

All my love,
Elora (And Jenn!) ❤

About elorabishop

Author of fantasy, fairy tale, science-fiction and paranormal lesbian romances.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On BRAIDED — a Lesbian Rapunzel

  1. Arielle says:

    Eeee! So excited about this! <3333

    I know you're not a fan of Grimm, but I seriously loved how unique their twist on Rapunzel was, & I thought you would at least enjoy the uniqueness of it.

    http://www.nbc.com/grimm/episode-guide/season-1/420302/let-your-hair-down/episode-107/442252/

  2. Fatima says:

    I love your books! They are all so eloquently told and reek of imagination and just plain magic!

    I do have a small wonder for you, Miss Elora. Will you ever make a lesbian book with women of color?

    • elorabishop says:

      Fatima, thank you. 🙂 I very much appreciate that~

      In Cage the Darlings, Merle is brown-skinned, and under Sarah Diemer, I wrote Sugar Moon and Far–SM’s love interest is Black, and Far’s main character is Black. Writing women of color is very important to me–though there are only a few stories released as Elora, thus far, most coming contain POCs. 🙂 ❤ Thank you for asking!

  3. Pingback: Link Round Up « The Lesbrary

  4. Katie H. says:

    Oh, I am SO excited for this. And the cover is beautiful!

    With all the recent fairy tale retellings in the media and books and other places, yours are the ones I look forward to most, and that’s the truth. 🙂

Leave a Reply

